Monday, November 29, 2010

Women's World Cup Draw

Big day for Women's Soccer as the draw for the 2011 World Cup in Germany was announced today. The United States, who squeaked in with a win over Italy in a playoff last week is paired with familiar foes North Korea and Sweden as well as World Cup newcomer Colombia. This marks the fourth straight World Cup that will feature a matchup between the United States and North Korea during the Group Stage. The U.S. won the first two by scores of 3-0 in 1999 and 2003, but the two teams tied in their last meeting in China in 2007. In Sweden, the United States has a very familiar adversary with the two sides having played 7 times since the beginning of 2007. The United States has won 5 of those matches, including a 2-0 win in China during the Group Stage of the 2007 World Cup, the two teams tied once, and Sweden won the other in a shootout. The United States has outscored Sweden 13-4 over those 7 matches and won the most recent meeting 3-0 on July 17 in East Hartford.

Here’s how the rest of the groups stack up with the latest FIFA rankings in parentheses:

Group A:
Germany (2)
Canada (9)
Nigeria (27)
France (8)

Group B:
Japan (5)
New Zealand (23)
Mexico (22)
England (10)

Group C:
United States (1)
North Korea (6)
Colombia (32)
Sweden (4)

Group D:
Brazil (3)
Australia (12)
Equatorial Guinea (62)
Norway (7)

Photo Courtesy:

No comments:

Post a Comment