Sunday, January 26, 2014

Quarterbacks to Knock Tom Brady out of the Playoffs

Since New England defeated the Philadelphia Eagles to win Super Bowl XXXIX, the Patriots have now gone 9 seasons with Tom Brady and no more rings (and yes, one of those seasons saw Brady get hurt in Week 1 and missed the final 15 games). Here's a list of the eight quarterbacks who have knocked Brady and the Patriots out of the postseason and kept him from winning a 4th Super Bowl ring.

1. January 14, 2006 - Jake Plummer - Denver Broncos
Photo Credit:
Plummer threw for 197 yards and a 4-yard touchdown pass to Rod Smith as the Broncos took advantage of five New England turnovers in a 27-13 win. Brady threw for 341 yards and a touchdown, but was intercepted twice, once in the end zone.

2. January 21, 2007 - Peyton Manning - Indianapolis Colts
Photo Credit:
Manning rallied the Colts from a 21-3 first half deficit as Indianapolis came away with a stunning 38-34 victory. Brady threw for 232 yards an a touchdown to Jabar Gaffney, but he was intercepted by Marlin Jackson after driving the Pats into Colts territory with 24 seconds remaining sealing the win for Indy. Peyton Manning threw for 349 yards and a touchdown and also ran for a score in the come-from-behind win.

3. February 3, 2008 - Eli Manning - New York Giants
Photo Credit:
New England's bid to go 19-0 went up in smoke when Eli Manning completed a 13-yard touchdown pass to Plaxico Burress with 35 seconds remaining to give the Giants a 17-14 win in Super Bowl XLII. Brady threw for 266 yards and a fourth quarter touchdown to Randy Moss, but he was sacked five times. Eli Manning finished with 255 yards and a pair of touchdowns.

4. January 10, 2010 - Joe Flacco - Baltimore Ravens
Photo Credit:
Joe Flacco threw for just 34 yards, no touchdowns and an interception as the Ravens rode their running game (234 yards and four touchdowns) to a 33-14 win. Brady, in his first playoff game since his knee injury in Week 1 of the 2008 season, threw for more than four times the yardage amassed by Flacco, but was intercepted three times and lost a fumble.

5. January 16, 2011 - Mark Sanchez - New York Jets
Photo Credit:
Sanchez threw for 194 yards and completed touchdown passes to Braylon Edwards, Santonio Holmes and LaDainian Tomlinson as the Jets defeated the Patriots 28-21. Brady threw for 299 yards and two touchdowns, but one of those came with 24 seconds remaining; too little too late.

6. February 5, 2012 - Eli Manning - New York Giants
Photo Credit:
Super Bowl XLVI ended up the same way that Super Bowl XLII did with Eli Manning leading the Giants to a come-from-behind win capped by a touchdown in the final minute of the game. Brady finished with 276 yards and a pair of touchdowns despite his biggest weapon during the regular season - Rob Gronkowski - getting injured in the AFC Championship Game and being rendered completely ineffective (2 catches 26 yards). Manning completed 30 of 40 passes for 296 yards and a touchdown and won his second Super Bowl MVP Award.

7. January 20, 2013 - Joe Flacco - Baltimore Ravens
Photo Credit:
Flacco was much better this time around throwing 3 second half touchdown passes as he rallied the Ravens from a 13-7 deficit to a 28-13 win and the AFC Championship. Brady threw for 320 yards in a losing effort, but was intercepted twice in the Red Zone in the fourth quarter.

8. January 19, 2014 - Peyton Manning - Denver Broncos
Photo Credit:
This time it was Brady's defense that let him down in the AFC Title Game as Peyton Manning threw for 400 yards in a 26-16 win. Brady threw for 277 yards, most of them late, and ran for a score in the fourth quarter. Denver led 23-3 with ten minutes left in the game, but Manning ensured New England never got the ball back after Brady cut the deficit to ten points.

No comments:

Post a Comment