Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Djokovic Wins Again!

Photo Credit: new.yahoo.com
Novak Djokovic won his 3rd Grand Slam of the year defeating Rafael Nadal 6-2, 6-4, 6-7, 6-1 yesterday to win the 2011  U.S. Open. Djokovic only failed to win the French Open this year falling to Roger Federer in the semifinals. In 2011 Djokovic is now 64-2 and has won 10 tournaments. Equally impressive is the fact that he has beaten Nadal, the #2 player in the world, SIX TIMES this year in six tries.

BNP Paribas Open Finals - Won 4-6, 6-3, 6-2
Sony Ericsson Open Finals - Won 4-6, 6-3, 7-6
Mutua Madrilena Madrid Open Finals - Won 7-5, 6-4
Internazionali BNL d'Italia Finals - Won 6-4, 6-4
Wimbledon Finals - Won 6-4, 6-1, 1-6, 6-3
U.S. Open Finals - Won 6-2, 6-4, 6-7, 6-1

With his latest victory Djokovic became just the 4th player in the last 30 years to win 3 of the 4 Grand Slam events in a single year. Mats Wilander accomplished the feat in 1988 failing only to win Wimbledon, Roger Federer did it 3 times (2004, 2006, 2007) each time failing to win the French Open, Nadal won 3 in a row last year after getting knocked out of the Australian Open in the quarterfinals, and now Djokovic.

Only two men have ever won all four events in the same year. Rod Laver did it twice, in 1962 and again in 1969, and Don Budge accomplished the feat back in 1938.
Photo Credit: dailykos.com

No comments:

Post a Comment