Monday, November 14, 2011

Hellickson, Kimbrel Named MLB Rookies of the Year

Congratulations to Tampa Bay's Jeremy Hellickson and Atlanta's Craig Kimbrel for being respectively named the American and National League Rookies of the Year.
Photo Credit:

The 24 year old Hellickson won 13 games for the Rays and had a 2.95 ERA over 29 starts while helping Tampa steal a playoff spot from the Boston Red Sox. Hellickson was unbeaten in 5 September starts, 4 of which came against the Red Sox and Yankees as the Rays made up 9 games down the stretch to clinch the AL Wild Card berth. He received 17 of a possible 28 first place votes easily finishing ahead of the Angels' Mark Trumbo, Kansas City's Eric Hosmer and New York's Ivan Nova becoming just the second Ray to ever win the Rookie of the Year Award joining current teammate Evan Longoria who was the winner back in 2008.

Kimbrel had a rough end to the season blowing a save on the final day that led to Atlanta missing the playoffs which makes it easy to forget just how ridiculously dominant he was the rest of the year. The 23 year old's total body of work led to him being the first unanimous selection for the NL Rookie of the Year since Albert Pujols back in 2001. Kimbrel set a rookie record with 46 saves and fanned 127 hitters in just 77 innings. During one stretch over the summer, Kimbrel appeared in 38 straight games without allowing a run. Kimbrel's teammate Freddie Freeman finished second, while Philadelphia's Vance Worley was third, and the recently kidnapped and subsequently rescued Wilson Ramos was fourth.

And I just want to remind everyone, that I called it.

No comments:

Post a Comment