Wednesday, May 25, 2011

NHL Western Conference Finals - Game 5

VANCOUVER 3 SAN JOSE 2, 2OT - Vancouver wins series 4-1.


VAN- Alex Burrows (7), Ryan Kesler (7), Kevin Bieksa (5)
SAN- Patrick Marleau (8), Devin Setoguchi (7)


The Canucks tied the game with 13.2 seconds remaining in regulation to send it into overtime... Roberto Luongo made 54 saves to help send the Canucks to the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time since 1994 when they lost to Mark Messier's New York Rangers in 7 games... Henrik Sedin picked up two more assists giving him 6 over the past two games and 11 in the 5 games series. Sedin leads all players with 21 points in the postseason... The San Jose Sharks are one of six active teams that have never reached the Stanley Cup Finals. The others are the Phoenix Coyotes, Minnesota Wild, Columbus Blue Jackets, Atlanta Thrashers and Nashville Predators... Kevin Bieksa, who scored the game winner in double overtime, had just 6 goals in 66 games during the regular season. He already has 5 goals during the playoffs... Canada has not had a Stanley Cup Winner since 1993 when the Montreal Canadiens defeated Wayne Gretzky and the Los Angeles Kings... Patrick Marleau scored in every game of the series except Game 4... Devin Setoguchi's 7 goals this postseason equaled his total from the 3 previous postseasons with the Sharks... The Canucks will now wait to see the results of the Eastern Conference Finals where Boston holds a 3-2 series lead over Tampa Bay. Vancouver played each team once during the regular season losing 5-4 in overtime to the Lightning and 3-1 to Boston. Both games were played in Vancouver.

No comments:

Post a Comment